Plate Refund

Plate Refund


About:
Plate Refund


ServiceArizona is an easy way for Arizona residents to take care of Motor Vehicle Division (MVD) business any time of the day or night, from the comfort of their home or office. Currently, Arizona residents may use ServiceArizona for: online Vehicle Registration Renewals, Personalized/Specialty Plates, Fleet Registration Renewals, Address/Email Changes, ordering duplicate Driver Licenses or Identification Cards with or without an address change, obtaining a Restricted Use 3-Day Permit, viewing available Plate Credit, Driver License Reinstatement, Voter Registration, Duplicate Vehicle Registration, obtaining a 30-Day General Use Permit, Plate Refund, Vehicle Sold Notice, Vehicle Fee Recap, Citizens MVR - Title and Registration and Driver License, Insurance Verification, Tab Replacement, Off-Highway Vehicle Decal, Lien Motor Vehicle Inquiry, Emissions/Registration Fee Check and for Fleet Application.

Your privacy and security are our highest priority. That's why we're hard at work on an ongoing basis to keep ServiceArizona one of the most secure websites on the Internet. Here are just a few of the things we are doing to protect you:

We hope you will take advantage of the convenience ServiceArizona offers with complete confidence in its security. If you have any concerns, please contact IBM at servicearizona@clearlake.ibm.com.

NOTE: ServiceArizona does not collect or share data on Website users for marketing purposes.

The Plate Refund application allows Arizona motorists to:

  • View the available refundable fees for a license plate when the owner:
    • Sold/traded-in the vehicle
    • Transferred the vehicle to another person
    • Lease ended and vehicle returned
    • Vehicle totaled, destroyed or stolen
  • Submit a request for the plate refund.
Note: Once the plate refund request has been submitted, the vehicle is no longer registered and cannot be legally operated.

For information regarding plate and fee to owner, click here.

  • Enter the plate number and personal or company information
  • View refundable fees
  • Request plate refund
  • View and print/email confirmation
  • Complete an optional survey

Yes. A processing fee required by Arizona law of $12.00 is assessed and will be deducted from the available plate refund amount. Only the remaining credit will be refunded.

Note: In order to receive a plate refund, the available plate refund amount must be more than $12.00

The plate refund check will be issued to all owners on the Motor Vehicle Division record.

Yes. If you would like to submit a plate refund request by mail, please click  here  to view, complete, and print the Plate Credit Refund Request form.

No. However you may process your plate refund if a ServiceArizona Self-Service Work Station is available in the Motor Vehicle Division Office or it may be submitted by mail. Click  here  to view, complete, and print the Plate Credit Refund Request form.

Yes. You must enter an Arizona address where you would like the plate refund check to be mailed. This will not change your address with the Motor Vehicle Division.

If you have an out of state address, you must request the refund by mail. Click  here   to view, complete, and print the Plate Credit Refund Request form.

The plate refund check will be mailed to you in 6 to 8 weeks.

A reprint of the Confirmation/Receipt for your online Plate Refund transaction can be obtained up to 14 days from the date of your online Plate Refund transaction. Click here to reprint your confirmation/receipt.

An owner with an Arizona license plate can use Plate Refund under one of the following conditions:

  • Sold/traded-in the vehicle
  • Transferred the vehicle to another person
  • Lease ended and vehicle returned
  • Vehicle totaled, destroyed or stolen

  • Your Arizona license plate number
  • and
  • Your Arizona customer/driver license number and date of birth
  • or
  • Company number or Company name

Unused portions of the following fees will be refunded minus the $12.00 processing fee required by Arizona law:

  • Vehicle License Tax (VLT)
  • Commercial Registration Fee (CRF)
  • Weight Fee (WGT)
  • Motor Carrier Fee (MCF)

ServiceArizona is available 7 days a week, 24 hours a day with the exception of the following time periods:

Transactions cannot be performed during the scheduled maintenance periods:

  • Between 11:50 PM and 12:10 AM daily; and
  • Between midnight and 2:00 AM each Sunday.

If you have additional questions, please contact the Motor Vehicle Division at one of the numbers listed below.

Phoenix: (602) 255-0072
Tucson: (520) 629-9808
Elsewhere in Arizona dial:    (800) 251-5866
Hearing/Speech Impaired-TDD systems only: Phoenix (602) 712-3222
  Elsewhere (800)324-5425

Nearest Motor Vehicle Division Office and Authorized Third Party provider
Emissions Station Locations or phone 1-877-MYAZCAR

For information regarding plate and fee to owner, click here.