Plate Refund

Plate Refund


About:
Plate Refund


ServiceArizona is an easy way for Arizona residents to take care of Motor Vehicle Division (MVD) business any time of the day or night, from the comfort of their home or office. Currently, Arizona residents may use ServiceArizona for: online Vehicle Registration Renewals, Personalized/Specialty Plates, Fleet Registration Renewals, Address/Email Changes, ordering duplicate Driver Licenses or Identification Cards with or without an address change, obtaining a Restricted Use 3-Day Permit, viewing available Plate Credit, Driver License Reinstatement, Voter Registration, Duplicate Vehicle Registration, obtaining a 30-Day General Use Permit, Plate Refund, Vehicle Sold Notice, Vehicle Fee Recap, Citizens MVR - Title and Registration and Driver License, Insurance Verification, Tab Replacement, Off-Highway Vehicle Decal, Lien Motor Vehicle Inquiry, Emissions/Registration Fee Check and for Fleet Application.

Your privacy and security are our highest priority. That's why we're hard at work on an ongoing basis to keep ServiceArizona one of the most secure websites on the Internet. Here are just a few of the things we are doing to protect you:

We hope you will take advantage of the convenience ServiceArizona offers with complete confidence in its security. If you have any concerns, please contact IBM at servicearizona@clearlake.ibm.com.

NOTE: ServiceArizona does not collect or share data on Website users for marketing purposes.

Yes. A processing fee required by AZ law of $12.00 is assessed and will be deducted from the available refund amount. Only the remaining credit will be refunded.

Note: In order to receive a refund, the available refund amount must be more than $12.

The refund check will be issued to all owners on the Motor Vehicle Division record.

Yes. If you would like to submit a refund request by mail, please click  here  to view, complete, and print the plate credit refund request form.

No. An MVD office will not process a refund request. A refund request can only be submitted via Plate Refund or by mail.

Yes. On Step 3 of the Plate Refund process, you must enter an Arizona address where you would like the refund check to be mailed before submitting the request. This will not change your address with the Motor Vehicle Division.

If you have an out of state address, you must request the refund by mail. Click  here   to view, complete, and print the plate credit refund request form.

If you use the Plate Refund service, the refund check will be mailed to you in 6 to 8 weeks.

A reprint of the Confirmation/Receipt for your online Duplicate Plate Refund transaction can be obtained up to 14 days from the date of your online Plate Refund transaction. Click here to reprint your confirmation/receipt.

Plate Refund is a service that allows Arizona motorists to:

  • View the available refundable fees for a license plate when the owner transfers or sells the vehicle to another person; and
  • Submit a request for the refund.
Note: Once the refund request has been submitted, the vehicle is no longer registered and cannot be legally operated.

For information regarding plate and fee to owner, click here.

  • The first step is to enter the plate number and your customer or driver license number, and date of birth (if applicable).
  • The second step allows you to view the plate refund available.
  • The third step allows you to submit a request for the refund
  • The fourth step allows you to view and print your confirmation.
  • The last step is an optional survey.

An owner with an Arizona license plate under one of the following conditions can use Plate Refund:

  • If he/she has transferred or sold the vehicle originally associated with the license plate; or
  • If he/she has ended a leasing agreement and is recorded as lessee.

  • Your Arizona license plate number; and
  • Your Arizona customer or driver license number.

Unused portions of the following fees will be refunded:

  • Vehicle License Tax (VLT)
  • Commercial Registration Fee (CRF)
  • Weight Fee (WGT)
  • Motor Carrier Fee (MCF)

You may pay with credit/debit/check cards. Check cards are linked to checking accounts and are accepted anywhere credit cards are accepted. Debit/Check card purchases are automatically deducted from the linked checking account.

ServiceArizona is available 7 days a week, 24 hours a day with the exception of the following time periods:

Transactions cannot be performed during the scheduled maintenance periods:

  • Between 11:50 PM and 12:10 AM daily; and
  • Between midnight and 2:00 AM each Sunday.

If you have additional questions, please contact the Motor Vehicle Division at one of the numbers listed below.

Phoenix: (602) 255-0072
Tucson: (520) 629-9808
Elsewhere in Arizona dial:    (800) 251-5866
Hearing/Speech Impaired-TDD systems only: Phoenix (602) 712-3222
  Elsewhere (800)324-5425

Nearest MVD Office and Authorized Third Party provider
Emissions Station Locations or phone 1-877-MYAZCAR

For information regarding plate and fee to owner, click here.